Type Ratings / Conversions

Type Ratings

The European EASA requires an individual training and license for each helicopter variant, a so-called type rating.

The type rating is valid for 1 year and can be renewed by performing a proficiency check with an examiner.

Each helicopter type can differ significantly from one another for example regarding the direction of rotation of main rotors, engines and power, limits and handling of emergencies.

The type rating is completed by theoretical knowledge check, as well as a practical skill test.

Valair offers you type rating courses for the following helicopters:

  • R44 Raven II
  • R66 Turbine

Every type rating requires a minimum of 2 hours flight time. Certain type ratings have higher requirements though. For example, a type rating for the first turbine helicopter requires a minimum of 5 hours flight time is requires in addition to a turbine engine ground course.


If you already have a helicopter license from a non-EASA 3rd state, for example FAA, you can convert your license to EASA-standards by meeting certain requirements:

  • EASA Medical Class 2
  • Theoretical subjects “Air Law” and “Human Performance”
  • Language Proficiency Demonstration of Level 4 or higher
  • Minimum of 100h flight time on helicopters
  • Passing of a skill test

Additional information can be found on the FOCA website. Please contact us, so that we can clarify your individual requirements with the authorities prior to any conversion training. We are happy to assist you.

This site uses cookies. If you continue browsing you agree to our terms of use. Find out more here